Jump to content

ESOL Skills for Life

Advance Notice

Trinity’s ESOL Skills for Life (QCF) qualifications (Entry 1 - Level 2) are transitioning to the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF). The exam format and qualification titles/numbers will remain unchanged.

Updated exam specifications and teaching resources will be available for first teaching from September 2017 for exam sessions from December 2017. Find out more…


Trinity ESOL Skills for Life qualifications are for people aged 16 and over who live in the UK and need English for everyday life and for work. They are designed to help people progress into mainstream English education and employment. 



Trinity ESOL Skills for Life qualifications are available at five levels from Entry 1 - Level 2.

There are three individual Awards and an overarching ESOL Skills for life Certificate when every unit has been passed. Each award is a qualification in its own right.

Individual Awards

  • Reading
  • Writing
  • Speaking and Listening

Overarching Certificate

  • A Trinity ESOL Skills for Life Certificate is awarded when Reading, Writing, Speaking and Listening exams have been passed at the same level.


Exam specifications and teaching resoures

Find ESOL Skills for Life (QCF) exam specifications and teaching resources for each level:

Entry 1 | Entry 2 | Entry 3 | Level 1 | Level 2


Additional information


Professional support

Trinity offers professional support to administrators and teachers preparing candidates for our exams - including visits, workshops and seminars to help get them started with Trinity exams. 

For more information and to find out how you can offer Trinity ESOL Skills for Life qualifications, please email ukesol@trinitycollege.co.uk.


Fees, exam dates and administration support

Vist exam administration for information and guidance about booking and running exams.



Visit www.gov.uk for current SFA funding rules for ESOL Skills for Life funding and further information.


Tests for pre-Entry level candidates

For people who aren’t yet ready for an Entry 1 qualification, Trinity’s Step 1 and 2 exams provide the chance to mark their progress while building up to take an Ofqual regulated Entry Level qualification.


Back to top