Jump to content


Join the list
Increase your profile by adding your institution to our list of recognising instititions: Join the list 

About Trinity College London

Trinity College London's Integrated Skills in English (ISE) examinations and Graded Examinations in Spoken English (GESE) are recognised by higher educational institutions around the world as evidence of English language proficiency for student admission.

Higher educational institutions which recognise ISE and GESE

UK institutions
USA institutions
Italian institutions

Spanish institutions
Mexican institutions
Irish institutions
Argentinian institutions

 ISE and GESE examinations are taken by hundreds of thousands of candidates worldwide each year and the number is growing in many countries including: China, Hong Kong, India, Greece, Italy, Spain, Hungary, Mexico, Argentina, Turkey and Russia.

Exam Information Booklets
Full academic information is available in the ISE Exam Information booklet and the GESE Exam Information booklet.

Trinity College London is a Full Member of the Association of Language Testers in Europe (ALTE).

View the CEFR chart to see how Trinity's English qualifications are aligned to the CEFR.

The CEFR Calibration Report details how GESE and ISE examinations are related to the Common Europeans Framework of Reference (CEFR). The CEFR Project Summary is a shorter version of this report.

Universities and Colleges

View the ISE leaflet for Universities and Colleges.

UK Border Agency
GESE and ISE are accepted by the UK Border Agency for the Spouse/Partner visa and for Tiers 1, 2, and 4 immigration.

Click the visa below to see the Trinity exam required.
Spouses and Partners visa
Tier 4 visa

Tier 2 visa
Tier 1 visa


In the UK, ISE and GESE are accredited by the Office of Qualifications and Examinations Regulation (Ofqual), and its respective partners in Wales and Northern Ireland.

EQF (European Qualifications Framework for Life Long Learning)

A European Qualifications Framework for Life Long Learning (EQF) is in the process of being introduced. The EQF relates different countries' national qualifications systems and frameworks together around a common European reference.

The UK's University and Colleges Admissions Services (UCAS) does not specify acceptable levels of English language proficiency. Their guidance advises international applicants to check the language level requirements of individual universities before making an application. You can also check our list of ISE-recoginising institutions. 

ISE language levels:
ISE II (B2 / Level 1)
ISE III (C1 / Level 2)
ISE IV (C2 / Level 3)

Typical requirements for UK university degree programmes in the UK are ISE level II or above:

ISE II (B2 / Level 1)

ISE III (C1 / Level 2)

ISE IV (C2 / Level 3)


Back to top